Hornchurch, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hornchurch, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to Hornchurch, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hornchurch, Essex
St Andrews Church, Hornchurch Essex.jpg
St Andrews Church, Hornchurch Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Havering atte Bower Liberty
County Essex
Poor Law Union Romford PLU
Registration District Romford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1576
Bishop's Transcripts: 1766
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barking
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Hornchurch
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hornchurch, is a village, a parish and a subdistrict in Romford district, Essex. The village stands between the rivers Rom and Ingerbourn, 2 miles SE of Romford railway station. The parish contains also the hamlet of Havering Well. The subdistrict contains 5 other parishes.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hornchurch, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Hornchurch St Andrew, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1576-1948
1576-1947
1576-1898
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

St Andrew
High St
Baptisms 1567-1895
Marriages 1576-1885
Burials 1576-1898: ERO
Later records: Not deposited

Holy Cross
Park Lane
Baptisms 1926-1987
Marriages 1928-1985: ERO

Hornchurch Holy Cross, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1920-1987
1928-1957

St Alban
(Roman Catholic)
Langdale Gardens
Elm Park
Formed 1939

St George
Kenilworth Gdns
Built 1935 as chapel-of-ease to St Andrew

St Mary Mother of God
(Roman Catholic)
Hornchurch Rd
Formed 1931

St Nicholas
Elm Park
Baptisms 1942-1979
Marriages 1947-1989: ERO

St Peter
Gubbins Lane
Harold Wood
Baptisms 1895- date
Marriages 1939- date: Not deposited

Non-Conformist Churches

General Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241368.


Poor Law Unions

Romford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hornchurch on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted 20 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 23 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 May 2015, at 16:03.
  • This page has been accessed 2,753 times.