Horninglow,StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire

Horninglow St John the Divine


Parish History

Horninglow St John the Divine was formed in 1867 from part of Burton upon Trent Christ Church, Staffordshire Ecclesiastical Parish.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD  includes registered births and marriages for the Burton upon Trent Registration District .

Church records

Horninglow parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[1]
Horninglow Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1866-1901 1866-1901

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1866-1943 Mar 1867-2000 Bur 1866-1953
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts None

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 25 August 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 23:45.
  • This page has been accessed 994 times.