Horsforth, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Horsforth, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Carlton Gilbert Union PLU|
|Parish registers: 1693|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
HORSFORTH, a chapelry, in the parish of Guisley, Upper division of the wapentake of Skyrack, W. riding of York, 5 miles (N. W.) from Leeds; containing 4188 inhabitants. There are places of worship for Baptists, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Methodists of the New Connexion. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Horsforth exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|HORSFORTH CHAPELRY (1620) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels comprising the whole ancient parish of Guiseley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the GUISELEY PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464269.
A 1795 Census for Horsforth provides a basis for family name searching for this period. An LDS film reference is given on the resulting Webpage.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 12 May 2015, at 22:08.
- This page has been accessed 2,956 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News