Horton Kirby, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Kent Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Horton Kirby, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Horton Kirby St Mary the Virgin Kent.jpg

Contents

Parish History

HORTON, KIRBY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Dartford, hundred of Axton, Dartford, and Wilmington, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 4 miles (S. S. E.) from Dartford.
Horton Kirby and South Darenth is a civil parish in the Sevenoaks district of Kent.[1]

Horton Kirby and South Darenth Wikipedia and Horton Kirby Wikipedia

Horton Kirby St Mary is an Ancient Parish which included South Darenthand id in the Diocese of Rochester Dartford Deanery and is part of a united benefice with Sutton at Hone, Kent; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The Parish church of St Mary Horton Road Horton Kirby has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 494-509 at British History Online  and Kent Churches website

See Horton Kirby North West Kent Family History Society and Horton Kirby St Mary

South Darenth North West Kent Family History Society

Resources

Civil Registration

Dartford Registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Horton Kirby, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
Horton Kirby, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1876
1801-1876

FREG 1684-1968
1684-1955
1678-1955
FS 1684-1812
1684-1812

FS BTs 1719-1905 1719-1905 1719-1905
FS PRs 1684-1876 1684-1876; 1754-1876 (banns) 1678-1875
IARC 1684-1812
1684-1812
1684-1812
IGI 1684-1812 1684-1812
MED 1671-1991 1671-1991 1671-1991
PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census returns for Horton Kirby 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Dartford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 557-559. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. Batches P014671, M014671, and M014673, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 March 2012.
  5. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  7. W. Bruce Bannerman, The Parish Registers of Horton Kirbie, Co. Kent (London: Privately Printed, 1918). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  9. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:07.
  • This page has been accessed 2,282 times.