Horton cum Studley, Oxfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Horton cum Studley, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Horton cum Studley, Oxfordshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ashendon; Bullingdon
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Headington
Registration District Headington
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Beckley
Bishop's Transcripts: 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Islip
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office


Parish History

Horton cum Studley is a chapelry of Beckley Ancient Parish in Oxfordshire. Horton cum Studley is partly in Oxfordshire and partly in Buckinghamshire. Other places in the parish include Studley [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Horton cum Studley, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Horton cum Studley, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1880-1979

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474572.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 May 2015, at 20:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,169 times.