Hotham, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hotham, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Hotham

Guide to Hotham, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hotham, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Harthill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Howden
Registration District Howden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1706
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of St Leonard's Hospital, York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Parish History

HOTHAM (St. Oswald), a parish, in the union of Howden, Hunsley-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York, 1½ mile (N. N. E.) from North Cave. This parish, which is situated between the Wolds and the great plains of Howden and York. The church is a neat modern structure, with an ancient Norman tower, and other interesting details of that style of architecture, among which are the remains of a fine Norman arch. Near the village are vestiges of a Roman road leading towards North and South Newbald.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Hotham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FS =
ANC = (£)
JOIN = - (£)
HOTHAM PARISH (1657) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1813-1848






AC None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Hotham to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the HOTHAM PARISH page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464219.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 559-562. Date accessed: October 31, 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 May 2015, at 22:13.
  • This page has been accessed 2,654 times.