Hough on the Hill, LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Lincolnshire go to  Lincolnshire Parishes
All+Saints Hough+on+the+Hill Lincolnshire.JPG

Contents

Parish History

Hough on the Hill All Saints is an Ancient Parish; the church on this site dates back to Saxon times with subsequent tower addition and restoration in several centuries.

The tower is unusual in having a turret stairway.

"HOUGH-on-the-Hill (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Grantham, wapentake of Loveden, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 7 miles (N.) from Grantham; containing, with the hamlets of Brandon and Gelston, 582 inhabitants."[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Hough on the Hill Par 1 will identify available images.

Search Family History Library CatalogueHough on the Hill

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438757.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 559-562. Date accessed: 24 August 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:50.
  • This page has been accessed 609 times.