Houghton St Giles, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Houghton St Giles, Norfolk
Saint Giles Church, Houghton St Giles.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Greenhoe
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Walsingham PLU
Registration District Walsingham
Records begin
Parish records: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walsingham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOUGHTON-IN-THE-HOLE (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Walsingham, hundred of North Greenhoe, W. division of Norfolk, ¾ of a mile (S. W.) from Little Walsingham.[1]

Houghton St Giles is an Ancient Parish in the Walsingham deanery of the Diocese of Norwich.

The parish church of Saint Giles was rebuilt by William Eden Nestfield in 1877 and much of the building materials for the new church were re-cycled from an older church on the site. At the western end of the church there is a low tower with a pyramid cap. The nave and the chancel are under one tiled roof.

Walsingham Norfolk Shrine Churches links to the other churches of the Walsingham area Barsham is a civil parish in the English county of Norfolk, and includes the villages of East Barsham, North Barsham, West Barsham and Houghton St Giles. The villages are all situated with 3 km of each other, about 5 km north of the town of Fakenham and 45 km north-west of the city of Norwich. The headwaters of the River Stiffkey flow through both East and North Barsham and Houghton St Giles.
Originally all four villages had their own parishes, but these were merged to create a single civil parish in 1935.
For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of North Norfolk

The parish is catalogued as Houghton St Giles by Norfolk Record Office It was also known as Houghton-in-the-Dale or Houghton-in-the-Hole. FamilySearch adopts the latter in it's catalogue and Presentation of images at FamilySearch Historical records. 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Walsingham 1837-1938
  • Fakenham 1939-1974

The Register Office, Fakenham Connect, Oak Street, Fakenham, NR21 9SR.
Tel: 01328 850111. E-mail: registration.fakenham@norfolk.gov.uk

Church records

Houghton St Giles, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Houghton St Giles, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1558-1812
1558-1902


FREG 1600-1900
1558-1902
1558-1900
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1904 Undefined 1558-1902 Undefined 1558-1908

Norfolk Record Office  Houghton St Giles reference PD 584

The parish is most commonly known as Houghton St Giles but may be referred to also as Houghton-le-Dale or Houghton-in-the-Hole This less used form is the hierarchy adopted by the Family History Library Catalogue and images for the parish registers and the images at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Parish registers of Houghton-in-the-Hole, 1559-1908   Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich. Norfolk Record Office no.: PD584/38-40.
Some early records in Latin.
Also known as Houghton-le-Dale and Houghton-St. Giles.

Baptisms, 1559-1812; Marriages, 1559-1902; Banns, 1754-1812, 1824-1828, 1837-1902; Burials, 1559-1762, 1783-1812; Register bills of baptism, 1874-1878; Register bills of burials, 1875-1876. FHL BRITISH Film 1526327 Items 1 - 7
Baptisms, 1813-1904; Burials, 1813-1908. FHL BRITISH Film 2147146 Items 4 - 5
Register bills of burials, 1858-1859. FHL BRITISH Film 2186443 Item 17
Archdeacons transcripts

Baptisms 1600-1609, 1623-1636, 1666-1812 Marriages 1600-1609, 1623-1634, 1666-1811 Burials 1600-1608, 1625-1636, 1669-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526785 Item 10

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438859.


Poor Law Unions

Walsingham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

 


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 562-566. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 February 2014.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,233 times.