Houghton le Spring, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Houghton le Spring, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Houghton le Spring, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Houghton le Spring, Durham
Houghton le Spring St Michael & All Angels Co Durham.jpg
Houghton le Spring St Michael & All Angels Co Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Houghton le Spring PLU
Registration District Chester le Street; Houghton le Spring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563; Separate registers exist for West Herrington beginning 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Easington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOUGHTON-LE-SPRING (St. Michael), a town and parish, and the head of a union, in the N. division of Easington ward and of the county of Durham, 6½ miles (N. E.) from Durham, and 266 (N. N. W.) from London. There are meeting-houses for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans, and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Additional information: St Michael Houghton-le-Spring is an ancient parish and parts of the church are Norman the remainder thirteenth century.

The parish includes Biddick Waterville, Burn Moors, Cocken,Eppleton, East and Middle Herrington, West Herrington, Offerton, South Biddick,Moor House, Morsley, Middleton Grange,Offerton and Wardenlaw.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/141 1762-1847 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. Additional Burial ground transcripts for 1892-1896 for Houghton-le-Spring Municipal Cemetery are included DDR/EA/PBT/2/141

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

There is a missing legible image in the Marriage record sequence for 1762- 1822 at image 156 of 556 PBT/2/141/145 for marriages after March 1805  

The parish register for this year may be found

Content Film
Baptisms 1746-1821 Marriages 1746-1812 Burials 1746-1812 BRITISH Film 893830

The Parish Registers for the period 1563-1989 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Ho)

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

The Family History Library has Methodist Circuit Baptisms and Marriages   This book shows dates, places and names of individuals.  This is a large books with thousands of entries.

  • Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • United Presbyterian Church of Scotland
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241354.


Genealogy From Periodicals,

Betts, Enid.  A Sanderson Family and Its Branches.  History of Stepen Sanderson born 1811, and his wife Elizabeth Aisbitt and descendants.  According to the IGI the Sandersons were in Houghton le Spring, from the late 1500's.  Other areas the descendants were in:  Eighton Banks, Gateshead Pelaw, Bishop Wearmouth, with a branch going to USA and another branch to Australia.  Surnames mention: Liddell, Fenwick, Wynn, Armstrong, Hunter, Best, Murray, Reay, Lockey, Wanless and Smith. Article dated 1560-1985, and is found in The Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal, vol.27, no.3,pages 92-95. Family History Library Reference 942.8 B2jo v.27.no.3.(autumn 2002)

Poor Law Unions

Houghton le Spring Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Houghton le Spring on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 562-566. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 02:10.
  • This page has been accessed 3,034 times.