Howard County, Iowa GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Howard County, Iowa)

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Howard County

Guide to Howard County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records



Howard County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Howard County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Cresco
Courthouse

Contents

County Information

Howard County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1875 1880 1840 1855 1873

County Courthouse

History

Parent County

There have been two Howard counties in Iowa.
1816-- The first Howard County was established . It became part of the Missouri Territory.
1851--Howard County was created 15 January 1851 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Floyd County prior to organization 15 September 1855.  County seat: Cresco [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

December 1, 1876 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.

For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Chickasaw • Floyd • Mitchell • Winneshiek • Fillmore County, Minnesota • Mower County, Minnesota

Howard CountyWinneshiek CountyFayette CountyChickasaw CountyFloyd CountyMitchell CountyAllamakee CountyClayton CountyBremer CountyButler CountyFranklin CountyCerro Gordo CountyWorth CountyMower CountyFillmore CountyHouston CountyWinona CountyOlmsted CountyDodge CountySteele CountyFreeborn CountyIAHoward.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Cresco, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Howard County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


  • Alexander, W E. History of Chickasaw and Howard counties, Iowa. Decorah, Iowa : Western Publishing Company, 1883.
  • Fairbairn, Robert Herd. History of Chickasaw and Howard Counties, Iowa. Chicago, Illinois : S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1919.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Howard County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Howard County, Iowa Genealogy:


- 9th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 12th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
- 12th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
:- 9th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

  • Lime Springs Herald. 1932-35, 1939-42, 1946-62. Lime Springs, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • The Sun Herald.1916-32. Lime Springs, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • The Lime Springs Sun.1897 and 1902-05. Lime Springs, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • The Times Plain Dealer. 1966. Cresco, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Howard - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Howard County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "howard county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "howard county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "howard county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Howard County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
iowa-genealogy.com Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Howard County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Howard County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Howard County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Howard County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2015, at 17:41.
  • This page has been accessed 5,669 times.