Hoylake, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hoylake, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Hoylake

Guide to Hoylake, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

MEOLSE, LITTLE, a township, in the parish of West Kirby, union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Wirrall, S. division of the county of Chester, 9 miles (W.) from Birkenhead. In this township and Hoose is Hoylake, a commodious church, has been erected by the lady of Mr. Swainson, which affords great accommodation to the inhabitants and the numerous visiters attracted hither, who before had no place of worship nearer than the parish church, it is dedicated to the Holy Trinity, and is a neat edifice in the Norman style. [1]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.


Church Records

Hoylake Holy Trinity was built in 1834 as a chapel to West Kirby: St. Bridget as Hoose - renamed in 1860. Hoylake registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Hoylake Holy Trinity (1839) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
1875-1878
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Hoylake, 1834-1952 Parish Church of Hoose Cheshire Record Office no.: P80/1/1-5, P80/2/1-6, P80/3/1-4, P80/4/1-2.

Parish Registers: Hoylake Film
Baptisms, 1834-1903; Marriages, 1834-1835.
1656399 Items 9 - 12
Marriages, 1837-1844, 1862-1912. Burials, 1834-1910. Banns, 1834-1844, 1862-1909.
1656400 Items 1 - 7
Baptisms, 1903-1919.
2191048 Items 9 - 10
Marriages, 1912-1952. Burials, 1910-1921
2191574 Items 1 - 4

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Wesleyan Methodist

Non-Conformists Church Records:

Church records for St. Luke's Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Hoylake, 1884-1948

Church records for St. Luke's Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Hoylake
Film
Baptisms, 1884-1948.
1594191 Item 7
Baptisms, 1884-1948 (another filming).
2299472 Item 5

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1894-1974)
  • Birkenhead (1974-98)
  • Wirral (1998+)

Poor Law Unions

  • Wirral (1894-1930)

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 291-295. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.


Bibliography



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:44.
  • This page has been accessed 525 times.