Hudswell, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hudswell, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngNorth Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Hudswell

Guide to Hudswell, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hudswell, Yorkshire
Hudswell St Michael and All Angels Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Hang
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Richmond
Registration District Richmond
Records begin
Parish registers: 1602
Bishop's Transcripts: 1637
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Parish History

Hudswell is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1739 from chapelry in Catterick, Yorkshire and Tunstall Ancient Parish.Other places in the parish include: Thorpe under Stone.

HUDSWELL, a chapelry, in the parish of Catterick, union of Richmond, wapentake of Hang-West, N. riding of York, 1¾ mile (W. S. W.) from Richmond. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Hudswell exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FS =
ANC = (£)
JOIN = - (£)
HUDSWELL CHAPELRY (1637) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1637-1847






AC None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Catterick to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the CATTERICK PARISH page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464232.

Poor Law Unions

Richmond Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 569-574. Date accessed: 28 October 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 May 2015, at 22:16.
  • This page has been accessed 3,193 times.