Huerfano County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Colorado Gotoarrow.png Huerfano County

Guide to Huerfano County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Huerfano County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Huerfano County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 9, 1852
County Seat Walsenburg
Courthouse
Address Huerfano County Courthouse
401 Main St #204
Walsenburg, CO 81089-2034
Phone: 719.738.2380
Huerfano County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records;
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and Court records[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
*
*
*



*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Walsenburg[1]

Parent County

  • Before 1861 this modern Colorado county was in New Mexico.
Look for pre-1861 records in New Mexico. For further explanation see Taos County.

1861 Huerfano County was created 1 November 1861 as an original county.

Neighboring Counties

Cohuerfano.jpg
 

Record Loss

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Huerfano County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local History

Local histories are available for Huerfano County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Huerfano County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Poor Records

Colorado State Archives has put the Huerfano County Poor Record Index on-line for 1916-1923.

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Public Records

School Records

Repositories

Archives
Courthouse
Family History Centers
Libraries
  • Spanish Peaks Library District
    323 N Main Street
    Walsenburg, CO 81089
    Phone: (719) 738-2774
    Website www.spld.org/
  • La Veta Regional Library District
    310 South Main Street
    La Veta, CO 81055
    Phone: (719) 742-3572
    Website www.lavetalibrary.org/
Museums
Societies

Huerfano County Historical Society
PO Box 977
La Veta, CO 81055

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the Family History Library Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.

Colorado State Archives has put the Huerfano County Inheritance Tax Records Index for 1910-1940 on-line.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Colorado Vital Records Search

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [6]

Marriage
Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [6]

Divorce

Places

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 99, Huerfano County, Colorado. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publ., 1987), 52. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  3. Brief County Histories (New Mexico) in RootsWeb (accessed 21 June 2012).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Colorado Territory" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopeida at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colorado_Territory (accessed 19 June 2012).
  5. Adrian B. Ettlinger, AniMap 3.0 : with SiteFinder U.S. place name database (Alamo, Calif.: Gold Bug, 2008), Colorado 1861 map. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL CD-ROM no. 4903.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 5,139 times.