Hugglescote and Donington, LeicestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngLeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Hugglescote and Donington, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sparkenhoe
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Ashby de la Zouch PLU
Registration District Ashby de la Zouch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1581; For more records see Ibstock
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparkenhoe
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DONNINGTON, with Hugglescote, a chapelry, in the parish of Ibstock, union of Ashby-de-la-Zouch, hundred of Sparkenhoe, S. division of the county of Leicester, 5½ miles (S. E. by E.) from Ashby.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hugglescote and Donington, Leicestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Hugglescote and Donington, Leicestershire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1563-1910
1563-1910
1563-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438748.

Poor Law Unions

Ashby de la Zouch Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. From: Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848)], pp. 69-78. Date accessed: 17 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 July 2014, at 23:43.
  • This page has been accessed 570 times.