Hungarton with Twyford and Thorpe Satchville, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Hungarton with Twyford and Thorpe Satchville, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Hungarton with Twyford and Thorpe Satchville, Leicestershire
St John the Baptist Hungarton Leicestershire.jpg
St John the Baptist Hungarton, Leicestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Goscote; Gartree
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Billesdon; Melton Mowbray PLU
Registration District Billesdon; Melton Mowbray
Records begin
Parish registers: 1614; Separate registers exist for Twyford beginning 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1579; Separate records exist for Twyford beginning 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Goscote
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HUNGERTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish,in the union of Billesdon, chiefly in the hundred of Gartree, S. division, but partly in that of East Goscote, N. division, of the county of Leicester. The living is a discharged vicarage, with that of Twyford and the chapelry of Thorp-Satchville united in 1732. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Hungerton like this:

HUNGERTON, a village, a township, and a parish in Billesdon district, Leicestershire. The village stands between the two branches of the river Wreak, 6 miles SE by E of Syston Junction r. station, and 7 NE by E of Leicester. There is a Wesleyan chapel.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hungarton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Hungarton Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1614-1910
1614-1910
1614-1910

Twyford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Twyford Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1547-1896
1547-1896
1547-1896

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester:Hungarton Bap 1614 - 1981 Marr 1614 – 2006 (Banns to 1985) Bur 1614 - 1982

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438742.


Poor Law Unions

Billesdon Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 583-588. Date accessed: 23 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,725 times.