Hunstanworth, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hunstanworth, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Huntstanworth, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hunstanworth, Durham
Hunstanworth St James Co Durham.jpg
Hunstanworth St James Co Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union Weardale PLU
Registration District Weardale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1776
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HUNSTONWORTH, or Hunstanworth, a parish, in the union of Weardale, W. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 8 miles (N. N. W.) from Stanhope. The church is a small neat structure, almost entirely built towards the close of the last century, on the site of a very ancient edifice.[1]

Additional information: In common with it's neighbours at Edmundbyers, Durham and  Ebchester, Durham the parish began as a chapelry in 1747 within the ancient parish of Edmundbyers, Durham. St James chapel was replaced in 1862 by the present church.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/145 1765-1871 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1659-1960 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL.(Cp/Hun)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Bible Christian Methodist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241348.


Poor Law Unions

Weardale Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hunstanworth on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 583-588. Date accessed: 29 March 2011.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 02:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,251 times.