Huntingdon St Mary and St Benedict, Huntingdonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes

Huntingdon St Mary and St Benedict, Huntingdonshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Huntingdon Borough
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union Huntingdon PLU
Registration District Huntingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1593; Separate registers exist for Huntingdon St Benedict beginning 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604; Separate records exist for Huntingdon St Benedict beginning 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Huntingdon
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Huntingdon St Mary and St Benedict, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Huntingdon, is a town, four parishes, a sub-district, and a district in Huntingdonshire. All Saints church is on the N side of the market place. There is an Independent chapel. There are also chapels for Quakers, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists. The four parishes in Huntingdon are All Saints, St. Mary, St. John, and St. Benedict.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]

Huntingdon St Benedict parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HUNTINGDON ST BENEDICT PARISH (1574) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1574-1875
1575-1783, 1813-1837

BOYD
1575-1700

FREG 1574-1691 None 1574-1691 None 1574-1691 None
IGI 1692-1783, 1813-1875 1754-1783, 1813-1837
NBI

1574-1900
PALL
1780-1837

Huntingdon St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HUNTINGDON ST MARY PARISH (1593) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1674-1875
1593-1875

BOYD
1593-1837

FREG 1593-1875 None 1593-1875 None 1593-1876 None
IGI 1692-1783, 1813-1875 1754-1783, 1813-1837
NBI

1574-1900
PALL
1780-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288840.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Huntingdon on GENUKI

Huntingdon St. Mary on GENUKI

Huntingdon St. Benedict on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 18 April 2014.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Huntingdon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  5. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,908 times.