Idmiston with Porton, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes

Guide to Idmiston with Porton, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Idmiston with Porton, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Alderbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Amesbury PLU
Registration District Amesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1577; Separate registers exist for Porton beginning 1754
Bishop's Transcripts: 1622; Separate records exist for Porton beginning 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

IDMISTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Amesbury, hundred of Alderbury, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wilts, 4 miles (S. E. by E.) from Amesbury. The Wesleyans have a place of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Idmiston with Porton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]
IDMISTON WITH PORTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1577-1907


FREG
1577-1812

IGI 1577-1885 1577-1895
JOIN
1577-1812

NBI

1577-1837
NIM 1584-1837
1577-1837
1577-1837
TGEN
1577-1812

Porton chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PORTON CHAPELRY Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1885


FREG
1754-1812

IGI 1813-1885 1754-1895
JOIN
1754-1812

NIM 1813-1840
1754-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464192.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 600-603. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 January 2014.
  5. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  7. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,531 times.