Ilketshall St Lawrence, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Ilketshall St Lawrence, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ilketshall St Lawrence, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wangford
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Wangford PLU
Registration District Wangford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wangford
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ILKETSHALL (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union and hundred of Wangford, E. division of Suffolk, 3¼ miles (S. E. by S.) from Bungay. [1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Ilketshall St Lawrence was in Wangford district. To search an index of Wangford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article provides more details about these records. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Church records

Ilketshall St Lawrence, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Ilketshall St Lawrence, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1559-1754

NBI

1559-1901
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474644.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 603-608. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:41.
  • This page has been accessed 644 times.