India GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to India ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
India is officially the Republic of India (Bhārat Gaṇarājya). It is both a country and sub-continent in South Asia. It is the seventh-largest country by area and the second-most populous country with over 1.2 billion people, and finally the most populous democracy in the world.
Four major world religions—Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, and Sikhism—originated here, whereas Judaism, Zoroastrianism, Christianity, and Islam arrived in the 1st millennium AD and these also helped shape the region's diverse culture.
In the early 16th century, northern India, being then under mainly Muslim rulers, fell again to the superior mobility and firepower of a new generation of Central Asian warriors.
British Empire Rule
Gradually annexed by and brought under the administration of the British East India Company from the early 18th century and administered directly by the United Kingdom after Indian Rebellion of 1857, India became an independent nation in 1947 after a struggle for independence that was marked by non-violent resistance led by Mahatma Gandhi.
A major problem for Genealogists is the Hindu custom of either burning the body, or (preferably) consigning it to the Ganges river. Thus finding graves is a critical problem.Genealogy records about individuals and families in India are free online and stored in archives and libraries around the world. Information on this page will help you discover your family history in India.
- Listing of all records collections for India available on FamilySearch.org
- Map of Hindu Pilgrimage Sites
- Dictionary of Indian Biography
- Indian Cemeteries
- Cemeteries in South Asia
- The Indiaman Magazine
- Families in British India Society
- India Office catalogues of private papers, prints etc.
- Hindu Pilgrimage records
- Maithil Brahmin genealogical records
- BYU Research Resources for India
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
- India Births and Baptisms (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- India Deaths and Burials (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- India, Gujarat Diocese Protestant Church Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- India, Hindu Pilgrimage Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- India Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- India, Punjab, Moga Land Ownership Pedigrees (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Did you know?
- The first British outpost in South Asia was established by the English East India Company in 1619 at Surat on the northwestern coast. The British subsequently expanded their influence in India Read more...
- After a massive rebellion against foreign rule in 1857, the British government decided to place India under the direct control of the Crown. The East India Company was abolished and Queen Victoria was proclaimed Empress of India in 1858. The British National Archives has made available online information about immigrants in the 19th century.
- Genealogical Records of Medieval India
- Place names have a long and varied history. A new article titled A history behind Street Names of Hderabad & Secunderabad provides a taste of rich history.
- This page was last modified on 9 September 2015, at 03:40.
- This page has been accessed 73,458 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News