Ingrave, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ingrave, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Ingrave - See also West Horndon

Guide to Ingrave, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ingrave St Nicholas Essex contributor Peter Stack.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Ingrave, is a village and a parish in Billericay district, Essex. The village stands near Thornton Park, 2 1/4 miles SE of Brentwood railway station. The living is a rectory of West Horndon, in the diocese of Rochester.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ingrave, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Ingrave, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1678-1859 1679-1957 1678-1884
FREG 1678-1859 1678-1837 1678-1884
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St Nicholas Ingrave

Also Thorndon Hall

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241360.


Poor Law Unions

Billericay Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 28 January 2015.
  3. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.
  4. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:48.
  • This page has been accessed 3,199 times.