Inworth, EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Essex Gotoarrow.png  Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Inworth

Guide to Inworth, Essex family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Inworth, Essex
All Saints Inworth, Essex .jpg
All Saints Inworth, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lexden (Witham)
County Essex
Poor Law Union Witham; Lexden and Winstree PLU
Registration District Witham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1732
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Coggeshall
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Inworth (All Saints), is a parish, in the union of Witham, Witham division of the hundred of Lexden, the N. division of Essex, it is 1 1/2 miles SE from Kelvedon. This place has also been known in records as Ineworth, Innesworth, and Inford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Images available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office All Saints Parish registers and Bishop's transcripts

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241373.


Poor Law Unions

Witham Poor Law Union, Essex and part Lexden and Winstree Poor Law Union, Essex


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 May 2014, at 14:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,090 times.