Ipsley, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ipsley, Warwickshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Guide to Ipsley, Warwickshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ipsley, Warwickshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barlichway
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Alcester
Registration District Alcester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1615
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Warwick
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

IPSLEY, is a parish in Alcester district, Warwickshire; it is on the river Arrow and the Redditch railway, and is contiguous to Worcestershire. It contains Headless Cross village, and part of Redditch town, each of these has a post office under Bromsgrove; and it also contains part of Crabs-Cross village. There is a Roman Catholic chapel on the border of the parish.[1]


Part of this parish is in Worcestershire. See also Ipsley, Worcestershire.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464168.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Accessed November 15, 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 May 2015, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,144 times.