Ipswich St Clement, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ipswich St Clement, Suffolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Parishes  Gotoarrow.png Ipswich Borough   Gotoarrow.png Ipswich St Clement

Ipswich St Clement, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ipswich
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Ipswich PLU
Registration District Ipswich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ipswich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St. Clement's Church, erected about 1500, is a plain structure, consisting of a nave, two spacious side-aisles, and a fine tower, in which are a good clock and six musical bells. A few years ago, the interior was re-seated, and the exterior flinted and thoroughly repaired. Among the monuments in the interior is one to the memory of Thomas Eldred.... The Parish of St. Clement's includes a large portion of the town, and about 1209 acres of land, extending more than two miles southward along the east bank of the Orwell. It increased its population from 2424 souls, in 1801, to 7025 in 1851, including Fore Hamlet, Back Hamlet, and Wykes Bishop Hamlet, which are now connected parts of the town. Within its limits is Warren House, which is extra parochial, and is now divided into six tenements, belonging to Sir P. V. Broke, who owns a great part of the freehold land in the parish..... TRINITY CHURCH, situated in that now populous part of St Clement's parish, between the Back and Fore Hamlets, is a neat chapel of ease, or district church, which was erected at the cost of £2000, in 1835.... William White, 1855, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Suffolk, page 76-77

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to St Clement Ipswich and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.
For civil registration and probate records see the Ipswich page.

Church records

Ipswich St Clement, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[1]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Ipswich St Clement, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1564-1753

IGI To 1813
NBI

1563-1886
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for Ipswich St Clement from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Ipswich Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Statistical Data Gathered from the Census
Abstract of the Answers and Returns made pursuant to an Act ...1801, 1811, 1821, 1831 Census : 1831 is also free google ebook
St Clement Ipswich
Employment
Years
Houses
Agriculture
Trade
Others
Persons
1801
346
refers to persons not families:14; 306; 1204;
1584
1811
709
51
572
167
3305
1821
916
58
551
426
4424
1831
1015
65
586
399
4779
Statistical data available - 1801 to 1931.  


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:41.
  • This page has been accessed 2,173 times.