Ipswich St Helen, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ipswich St Helen, Suffolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Parishes  Gotoarrow.png Ipswich Borough   Gotoarrow.png Ipswich St Helen

Ipswich St Helen, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ipswich
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Ipswich PLU
Registration District Ipswich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1677
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ipswich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Church records

Ipswich St Helen, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[1]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Ipswich St Helen, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1677-1753

NBI

1677-1900
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for general details about the census.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:41.
  • This page has been accessed 675 times.