Ipswich St Matthew, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ipswich St Matthew, Suffolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Parishes  Gotoarrow.png Ipswich Borough   Gotoarrow.png Ipswich St Matthew

Ipswich St Matthew, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ipswich
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Ipswich PLU
Registration District Ipswich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ipswich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St. Matthew's Church, at the west end of the town, stands in a large burial ground, and is a plain, unassuming structure, consisting of a nave, chancel, side aisles, tower, and south porch. It was re-newed about 1840, and was enlarged in 1813 by the extension of the south aisle. A further enlargement is in contemplation. The font is ancient, and has a finely carved cover,..... The parish increased its population from 1206 in 1801 to 3458 in 1841; but in 1851 it had increased to 5086 souls. It contains 647 acres of land, extending about 1 1/2 mile westward. It anciently contained four other churches or chapels, viz., All Saints, the site of which is unknown; St. George's, of which some remains may be seen in a barn in St. George's street; St. Mildred's, which was converted into the Town Hall, as already noticed; and St. Mary's Chapel, which stood at the north-west corner of Lady lane, and was famous for an image of the Blessed Virgin, called by the numerous pilgrims who visited it, "Our Lady of Ipswich;" but after the Reformation, it was taken to London, and there publicly burnt. The site of this chapel is covered with modern buildings. St. Matthew's, or the West Gate, was rebuilt in the time of Henry VI., and was for a long period used as the Borough Goal, but was demolished many years ago. The parish contains several handsome modern suburbs and neat mansions, and its chief landowners are R. D. Alexander, J. Orford, C. Kersey, and Robert Mumford, Esqrs. William White, 1855, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Suffolk, page 81-82

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to St Matthew Ipswich and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.
For civil registration and probate records refer to the Ipswich page.

Church records

Ipswich St Matthew, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[1]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Ipswich St Matthew, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1559-1753

IGI 1559-1876 1559-1875
NBI

1652-1885
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for general details about the census.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,279 times.