Ireland Bibliography (National Institute)Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
The original content for this article was contributed by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies in June 2012. It is an excerpt from their course Research: Irish Ancestor by Dr. Penelope Christensen. The Institute offers over 200 comprehensive genealogy courses for a fee ($).
Alphabetical Index to the Townlands and Towns, Parishes, and Baronies of Ireland 1877 (based on 1871 census) is on FHL fiches 6020345-53 at every FSC. There is also one for 1901.
General Alphabetical Index to the Townlands and Towns, Parishes, and Baronies of Ireland. Based on 1851 census and published 1861. Reprint 1984. Genealogical Publishing Company, Baltimore.
Handlist of Church of Ireland parish registers in the Representative Church Body Library (copies of this list, which is updated regularly, are available from RCB Library for a fee).
Index of Irish Wills 1484-1858. Eneclann CD.
The Parliamentary Gazetteer of Ireland 1844 is on FHL fiches 6020358-82 (25).
BARROW, G.B. 1977. The Genealogist’s Guide: An Index to Printed British Pedigrees and Family Histories 1950-1975, Being a Supplement to G.W. Marshall’s ‘Genealogist’s Guide and J.B. Whitmore’s ‘Genealogical Guide’. Research Publishing Company. FHL fiche 6026284(3).
BARTHOLOMEW, John. Several editions. Bartholomew’s Gazetteer of the British Isles. Statistical and Topographical. 9th edition (1952) on fiche 6020337-44 (8).
BARTHOLOMEW, John. The survey gazetteer of the British Isles : topographical, statistical and commercial : compiled from the 1901 census and the latest official returns : with appendices and special maps. London : George Newnes, 1904. FHL book 942 E5ba and film 599554 item 1
BEGLEY, Donal (ed). 1981. Irish Genealogy. A Record Finder. Heraldic Artists, Dublin.
BEVAN, Amanda and DUNCAN, Andrea. 199 5th edition. Tracing Your Ancestors in the Public Record Office. HMSO.
BLUMSON, Catherine. 1996. Civil Registration of Births, Deaths and Marriages in Ireland: A Practical Approach. In Familia #12. Ulster Genealogical and Historical Guild.
CANTWELL, Brian. Memorials of the Dead, the Collected Works. Eneclann. Over 67,000 Monumental inscriptions on CD.
CHRISTENSEN, Penelope. 2003. Researching English Occupations – Defence/Military Services. Heritage Productions.
CONGHAIL, Maire Mac and GORRY, Paul. 1997. Tracing Irish Ancestors. Harper Collins, Glasgow.
DUNCAN, Chris. 2006. Your Family in Ireland in Family Tree Magazine:
- Part 1. Register Offices, National Archives and Family History Societies. Vol. 22 ## page 40-41.
Part 2. Griffith’s Valuation, Wills, Census and BMDs. Vol. 22 #4 page 40-41.
Part 3. Culture, Geography, Maps, Monumental Inscriptions and Heraldry. Vol. 22 #5 page 40-41.
Part 4. Migration, Occupation and Military Sites. Vol. 22 #6 page 40-41.
EUSTACE, P.B. 1956. Abstracts of Wills from the Registry of Deeds. Stationery Office, Dublin.
FAMILY HISTORY LIBRARY. Research Outlines. Available on the FamilySearch Research Wiki:
Ireland Householders Index
Latin Genealogical Word List
British Sources for Previous Research
FERGUSON, Joan P.S., SMITH, Dennis, and WELLBURN, Peter. 1986 2nd edition. Scottish Family Histories Held in Scottish Libraries. National Library of Scotland.
FILBY, P.W. and MEYER, Mary K. 1981 and over 20 annual volumes. Passenger and Immigration Lists Index. Gale Research, Detroit.
GARDNER, David E., HARLAND, Derek and SMITH, Frank. 1964. Genealogical Atlas of Ireland. Deseret Book Company, Salt Lake City. It contains Lewis’ 1839 and Philips’ 1885 county maps plus an index.
GIBSON, Jeremy. 2001 5th edition. Probate Jurisdictions: Where to look for wills. Federation of Family History Societies.
GIBSON, Jeremy and Mervyn MEDLYCOTT. 1994 2nd edition. Local Census Listings 1522 - 1930. Federation of Family History Societies.
GLAZIER, Ira A. 1983-6. 7 volumes. The Famine Emigrants: Lists of Irish Emigrants Arriving at the Port of New York 1846-51. Genealogical Publishing Company, Baltimore.
GORHAM, Maurice. 1972. Dublin from Old Photographs. Batsford.
GORRY, Paul. 1988. Church of Ireland Parish Registers. Part 3. Family Tree Magazine Vol. 3 #11 page 15-16. Has map of C of I dioceses.
GRENHAM, John. 2006 3rd edition. Tracing Your Irish Ancestors. Genealogical Publishing Company, Baltimore, Maryland, USA.
HANNA, Dennis O’D. 1952. The Face of Ulster. Batsford. Part of a series by different authors called The Face of Britain.
HARRIS, Ruth-Ann and JACOBS, D.M. (editors). 1989-93. Volumes I-III. The Search for Missing Friends: Irish Immigrant Advertisements in the Boston Pilot.
JOHNSON, Keith A. and SAINTY, Malcolm R. (Editors). Annual since 1981. Genealogical Research Directory. Published by the editors.
KAMINKOW, Marion J. 1987. 2 volumes and 2 supplements. Genealogies in the Library of Congress: A Bibliography. Magna Carta Book Company, Baltimore, Maryland.
KILLANIN, Lord and DUIGNAN, Michael V. 1962. The Shell Guide to Ireland. Ebury Press.
LEWIS, Samuel. 1837. A topographical dictionary of Ireland : comprising the several counties, cities boroughs, corporate, market and post towns, parishes and villages with historical and statistical description. S. Lewis, London. FamilySearch digital version and FHL film 0599557.
LYONS, F.S.L. 1985. Ireland Since the Famine. HarperCollins.
MACLYSAGHT, Edward. 1985.Irish Families – Their Names, Arms and Origins. Irish Academic Press, Dublin. (and further titles in this series: More Irish Families, etc.)
MACLYSAGHT, Edward. 1985. 6th edition. The Surnames of Ireland. Irish Academic Press.
MAHER, James P. Returning Home : Transatlantic Migration from North America to Britain & Ireland 1858-1870. Eneclann CD.
MARSHALL, G.W. 1902. The Genealogist’s Guide. Reprinted 1967 by Heraldry Today. Reprinted 1973 by Genealogical Publishing Company, Baltimore, Maryland. FamilySearch digital version and FHL film 0496451 item 1.
McLAUGHLIN, Eve. 1988. Simple Latin for Family Historians. Federation of Family History Societies.
MEALLY, Victor (editor). 1968. Encyclopaedia of Ireland. McGraw-Hill.
MEYERINK, Kory L. (editor). 1998. Printed Sources. Ancestry Inc., Salt Lake City, Utah, USA.
MITCHELL, Brian. 1988. A Guide to Irish Parish Registers. Genealogical Publishing Co., Baltimore, Maryland, USA. Includes all denominations.
MITCHELL, Brian. 1990. A Guide to Irish Churches and Graveyards. Genealogical Publishing Co., Baltimore, Maryland, USA. This identifies every church and burial ground of all denominations in Ireland.
MITCHELL, Brian. 2002 (2nd edition). A New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland. Genealogical Publishing Co., Baltimore, Maryland, USA.
MORTON, H.V. Morton. 1930. In Search of Ireland. Methuen.
O’CONNOR, Frank. 1950s. Leinster, Munster and Connaught: County Books. Robert Hale.
PAST HOMES. 2006. County Index Maps. CDs accompanying Family Tree Magazine:
- Vol. 22 #3 (see page 42-43) Armagh, Kerry, Kilkenny, Laois, Limerick, Offaly, Tyrone and Wicklow.
Vol. 22 #4 (see page 39) Clare, Cork, Londonderry, Louth, Mayo, Monaghan, Roscommon and Waterford.
Vol. 22 #5 (see page 39) Donegal, Down, Dublin, Kildare, Leitrim, Sligo, Tipperary and Westmeath.
Vol. 22 #6 (see page 39) Antrim, Carlow, Cavan, Fermanagh, Galway, Longford, Meath and Wexford.
RYAN, James G. 1997 2nd edition. Irish Records. Sources for Family and Local History. Ancestry.
SHEARMAN, Hugh. 1949. Ulster: County Books. Robert Hale.
STUART, Margaret and PAUL, James Balfour. 1930. Scottish Family History: A Guide to the Works of Reference on the History and Genealogy of Scottish Families. Oliver and Boyd. Reprinted 1994 by Genealogical Publishing Company, Baltimore, Maryland. FamilySearch digital version and FHL book 941 A3s
THE NATIONAL ARCHIVES. Research Guides (formerly PRO Records Information Leaflets). There are about 150 of these on various topics. Find at TNA, Kew, England free to pick them up there, or download from their Internet site the D54 Records of the Royal Irish Constabulary.
THOMSON, T.R. 1976. 3rd edition. A Catalogue of British Family Histories. Research Publishing Company.
VICARS, Sir A. 1897. Index to the Prerogative Wills of Ireland 1536. 1810. Dublin. FamilySearch digital version and FHL book 941.5 P22v, film 0990303 item 2 or FHL fiches 6026394(6).
WEBB, Clifford. 1989. Date and Calendars for the Genealogist. Society of Genealogists, London.
WHITMORE, J.B. 1953. A Genealogical Guide: An Index to British Pedigrees in Continuation of Marshalls Genealogists Guide. Society of Genealogists. FHL book 929.142 M356g supp.
Information in this Wiki page is excerpted from the online course Research: Irish Ancestor offered by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies. To learn more about this course or other courses available from the Institute, see our website. We can be contacted at email@example.com
We welcome updates and additions to this Wiki page.
- This page was last modified on 29 January 2016, at 07:49.
- This page has been accessed 548 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News