Ireland Tithe Applotment Books (FamilySearch Historical Records)Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|This article describes a collection of historical records available at FamilySearch.org.|
Access the records: Ireland, Tithe Applotment Books, 1814-1855 .
Records cover the years 1814 through 1855. The Tithe Applotment books were compiled to determine the amount of tithes (tax) which must be paid to the Church of Ireland by those who occupied agricultural lands.
In 1823, the Composition Act was passed in Ireland, requiring that the tithes that were owed to the Established Church (the Church of Ireland) to be paid in money. These tithes were a tax on agricultural land and had previously been payable in kind. As a result, it was necessary to have a valuation or assessment of each civil parish in the entire country to determine how much would be payable by each landholder. The act provided for the appointment of commissioners to make the valuations in each parish.
The tax was based on the average price of wheat and oats over the seven years up to 1823 and was levied at a different rate depending on the quality of the land. As a result, the tax was not assessed equally on all land; some lands had no tax assessed at all. The tax caused a great resentment by those who were not members of the Church of Ireland, since the money was used to support the church. A series of acts were passed from 1823 onwards in an effort to make the method of calculating the tax fairer. The tax was generally abolished in 1869.
Books listing tithe-payers and quantities of land were compiled for most parishes and generally ranged between the years 1823 to 1838. The books were first deposited with the Irish Land Commission, and then in the 1940s they were transferred to the Public Record Office of Ireland and the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland. The books list about 40 percent of families heads.
The information in the books is quite reliable.
The books are either handwritten on pre-printed pages or handwritten using the same format as the pre-printed pages.
|You can browse through images in this collection by visiting the browse page for Ireland, Tithe Applotment Books, 1814-1855.|
Tithe applotment books generally contain the following information:
- Townland name
- Landholders’ names
- Amount of land held
- Amount to be paid in tithes
- Landlord’s name
- Assessment of the economic productivity of the land
How to Use the Record
To begin your search, it would be helpful if you knew the following information:
- Name of Ancestor
- Last residence
Search the Collection
To search by index:
Fill in the requested information in the initial search page. This search will return a list of possible matches. Compare the information about the ancestors in the list to what you already know about your ancestors to determine if this is the correct family or person. You may need to look at several images and compare the information about the individuals listed in those images to your ancestors to make this determination.
To browse by image:
To search the collection you will need to follow this series of links:
⇒Select "Browse through images" on the initial collection page
⇒Select the "County" category
⇒Select the "Parish" category
⇒Select the “Date" category which takes you to the images
Search the collection by image comparing the information with what you already know about your ancestors to determine if the image relates to them. You may need to look at several images and compare the information about the individuals listed in those images to your ancestors to make this determination.
For tips about searching on-line collections see the wiki article FamilySearch Search Tips and Tricks.
Tips to Keep in Mind
- There may be more than one person in the records with the same name.
- You may not be sure of your own ancestor’s name.
- Your ancestor may have used different names or variations of their name throughout their life.
- When looking for a person who had a common name, look at all the entries for the name before deciding which is correct.
- Titles may be clues to property ownership, occupations, rank, or status within the community.
- Be aware that, as with any index, transcription errors may occur.
- Check for variant spellings of the names.
|FHL Place Ireland items or FHL Keyword Ireland items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Ireland Archives and Libraries.|
General Information About These Records
Because most pre-1901 census records of Ireland have been destroyed, the Tithe Applotment Books are an important substitute. Although the books do not have a complete list of householders and residents, they are the only countrywide survey for the time period. In addition, they generally name individuals of lower economic status who carried the heaviest burden of tithes and about whom there are few other records.
The information in these records verifies the place and length of residency. Once you have established residence information, you can determine which church records to search.
Known Issues with This Collection
For a full list of all known issues associated with this collection see the attached Wiki article. If you encounter additional problems, please email them to firstname.lastname@example.org. Please include the full path to the link and a description of the problem in your e-mail. Your assistance will help ensure that future reworks will be considered.
- The National Archives of Ireland - Free access to images of Tithe Applotment Books
- Clare County Tithe Applotment Books
- Public Offices of Ireland
- Irish Ancestors - Tithe Applotment Books
Related Wiki Articles
How You Can Contribute
| We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Records. |
Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.
Citations for This Collection
When you copy information from a record, you should list where you found the information; that is, cite your sources. This will help people find the record again and evaluate the reliability of the source. It is also good to keep track of records where you did not find information, including the names of the people you looked for in the records. Citations are available for the collection as a whole and each record or image individually.
- "Ireland, Tithe Applotment Books, 1814-1855." Index and Images. FamilySearch. http://FamilySearch.org : accessed 2015. Citing Public Record Office, Dublin.
Record Citation (or citation for the index entry):
|The citation for a record is available with each record in this collection, at the bottom of the record screen. You can search records in this collection by visiting the search page for Ireland, Tithe Applotment Books, 1814-1855.|
|The citation for an image is available on each image in this collection by clicking Show Citation at the bottom left of the image screen. You can browse through images in this collection by visiting the browse page for Ireland, Tithe Applotment Books, 1814-1855.|
- This page was last modified on 3 June 2015, at 09:01.
- This page has been accessed 17,544 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News