Irish Genealogical Society of MichiganEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan|
The Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan ...
Welcome to the Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan. The Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan is a non-denominational organization focusing on genealogical research in all thirty-two counties of the Emerald Isle. The society is open to everyone!
- What are the benefits for becoming a member of the society?
- Delivery of the monthly newsletter, The Irish Tree.
- The ability to register research queries.
- Access to the IGSM/Shirley Phillips Memorial Library and online catalog.
- Access to our Irish Surname Registry.
- What are the benefits the society has to offer for those who are not members?
- Monthly meetings offering knowledgable speakers, research information and tips.
History of the society
- The Beginnings of IGSM...
The Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan was the dream of one woman, Shirley Phillips. For many years Shirley had been a member of other genealogical societies in the Detroit area, and she couldn’t understand why there wasn’t an Irish group. Certainly there were a lot of people of Irish descent in the Detroit area, so why not an Irish Genealogical Society?
In early July 1995, Shirley Phillips noticed an article that the Gaelic League was hosting a talk by Noel Van Gorden, at the time, head of the Burton Historical Collection of the Detroit Public Library. Shirley then called a friend and attended the meeting. Shirley got together with other genealogists in the Detroit area to form a core group.
She tapped people from the Oakland County Genealogical Society, the Detroit Society for Genealogical Research, the Western Wayne Genealogical Society, among others, who had an interest in Irish genealogy. Shirley then became the President. She began posting notices at the local Irish Social Clubs and finally on Saturday, February 24, 1996, the first meeting of the Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan was held at the Gaelic League in Detroit.
Shirley attributed much of the successful formulation of the Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan to Kathleen O’Neill, past president of the Gaelic League, who provided a meeting place for the IGSM.
The IGSM is a non-denominational organization focusing on genealogical research in all thirty-two counties of the Emerald Isle. The society is open to everyone! The group has grown steadily, and is now comprised of over one hundred and twenty five active members.
Meetings are normally held on the third or fourth Saturday of the month, from September through June, except December. Schedule changes do occur because of Gaelic League events.
Beginning at 12:00 pm and continuing until 1:15 pm, interested members gather to use the resources in the Shirley Phillips Memorial Library.
The regular meeting begins at 1:30 pm with a speaker. Some past topics of speeches have been: The Irish Linen Industry in Northern Ireland, Irish Genealogy on the Internet, Interpreting Church Records Written in Latin, and Planning a Research Trip to the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
The steady growth has been evident in other ways, also. The Gaelic League has graciously provided room for the Library which is primarily for Irish Genealogical Research. With some timely purchases and donations, the Library is equipped with three Pentium IV-based computers, two laser printers, a microfiche reader, copier/scanner, file cabinets and an expanding collection of Irish Genealogy resources! The Librarian is always looking for books, newspapers, periodicals, and CDs about people of Irish descent, particularly in the Detroit/Michigan/Ontario area.
- President: Bob Gaffrey
Vice President: Bill O'Reilly
Treasurer: Marilyn Couture
Recording Secretary: Erin Keem
Corresponding Secretary: Judy Cartier
'IGSM's 20th Anniversary Irish Genealogy Seminar' featuring renowned Speaker and Irish Genealogical Researcher, Donna Moughty.
When: Saturday, November 7th, 2015
At: Monaghan Knights of Columbus
19801 Farmington Road, Livonia, MI 48152
Donna Moughty, a Professional Genealogist and former Regional Manager for Apple Computer, has been conducting family research for over 20 years. She teaches and lectures on a variety of subjects including Internet, Irish research and computer topics locally and at national conferences and institutes. In addition, she provides consultations, research assistance and training. Donna attended the National Institute for GenealogicalResearch at the National Archives, and the Third and Fourth Irish Genealogical Congress in Ireland, the Salt Lake Institute – Irish Research and the Institute for Genealogical and Historical Research at Samford University where she was an instructor for the Irish course in 2011. She is a member of Association of Professional Genealogists and served as chair of the Professional Management Conference from 2005 - 2008, and the Genealogical Speakers Guild. Donna researches in Ireland each year and takes a group to Ireland in October to research. Her weekly genealogy blog can be found at www.moughty.com.
Donna will be presenting:
Strategies for Finding Your Irish Ancestors
Success in Irish research is highly dependent on discovering the exact location in Ireland of ones ancestors and typically clues to the location are in records in the United States. Although researching in Ireland can be a wonderful experience, research at home is key to successful Irish research. The fire at Four Courts in 1922 (the Public Records Office) was devastating, but contrary to popular belief, not ALL records were destroyed.
From Rubble to Ruin: Locating Famine Emigrants using Griffith’s Valuation
The fire at Four Courts in 1922, as well as the government’s destruction of early census records has left a major void for Irish researchers. Although never intended as a Census substitute, The Primary Valuation of Ireland managed by Richard Griffith between 1848 and 1864 has become a key resource for locating ancestors, or the family of ancestors who might have emigrated during the famine.
Unpuzzling Ireland’s Church Records
Prior to the start of civil registration in Ireland one of the only sources of family information is church records. The vast majority of the population of Ireland has always been Roman Catholic, however because of religious persecution, the records of the Catholic church begin late, usually around 1820. Understanding the history of Ireland is important, as religion in Ireland is a political issue as well as a spiritual one.
Seeking Your Scots-Irish Ancestors
Success in Irish research is highly dependent on discovering the exact location in Ireland of ones ancestors and typically clues to the location are in records in the United States. Although researching in Ireland can be a wonderful experience, research at home is key to successful Irish research. For those researching early Scots-Irish ancestry identifying the initial location here as well as understanding migration patterns throughout the US is key. Also, because of the fire at Four Courts in 1922 (the Public Records Office) there are only limited records available in Ireland prior to the 19th century.
Further information is available at: Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan
FamilySearch Wiki Projects
FamilySearch Wiki Page Adoptions
- Our roots began in Ireland ... : an Irish surname registry project for the Detroit Tricentennial in 2001
Statement of Responsibility:
compiled by the Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan
Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan (Added Author)
Detroit, Michigan : Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan, c2001
- The Irish Tree
- The membership meetings are normally held on the third or fourth Saturday of the month, from September through June, except December, at 1:30 pm. Schedule changes do occur because of Gaelic League events. Check the events page for a schedule of upcoming meetings and topics.
- The board meetings are normally held on the third or fourth Saturday of the month, from September through June, except December, at 11:00 am.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Q. What are the directions to the society?
- A. The IGSM holds their meetings at the Gaelic League of Detroit, 2068 Michigan Avenue, Detroit, MI 48216.
- Q. What are the society's hours of operation?
- A.For further information on membership, cost and benefits, please visit our website.
Nearby or Alternate Repositories
Bloomfield Hills Michigan Family History Center
7425 Woodward Ave Bloomfield Hills MI 48304-3568 United States
Enter the Northwest door of the building, go down the hall and then turn right.
- This page was last modified on 25 June 2015, at 13:20.
- This page has been accessed 560 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News