Iscoyd, WrexhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngIscoyd

A guide to genealogy in Iscoyd or Whitewell, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...

Iscoyd (Welsh: Iscoed), also known as Whitewell, is a village and ecclesiastical parish in the County Borough of Wrexham in Wales. It is part of the community of Bronington.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern County Borough of Wrexham.

Note: Iscoyd should not be confused with two nearby places with similar names: Isycoed and Bangor is y Coed.

Contents

History

"ISCOED (IS-COED), a township in that part of the parish of Malpas, which is in the hundred of Maelor, county of Flint, 2½ miles (W.N.W.) from Whitchurch; containing 515 inhabitants. This place, situated on the borders of Cheshire and Shropshire, is the most eastern district of North Wales; the road from Whitchurch to Wrexham passes through it. The Wich brook, which falls into the River Dee near Worthenbury, bounds the township on the north,, the remainder being in Cheshire." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]

For more information on Iscoed see: Iscoyd at Genuki

Whitewell was a chapel of ease within the parish of Malpas, in Cheshire, England until 1885. By an Order in Council on 19 May 1885, it was created a parish in its own right but remained within the English Diocese of Chester, where it remains today.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd

Records

Civil Registration

Iscoyd births, marriages and deaths are recorded in the GRO indexes as:

Years Sub-district District Volumes
1 Jul 1837 - 1851 Ellesmere XVIII
1851 - 1853 Hanmer Ellesmere 6a
1853 -1930 Whitchurch Whitchurch 6a

These records are now held at the Register Office at Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England.

Church Records

  • Until 1885, all baptisms, marriages and burials at Whitewell church were recorded in the registers of St. Oswald's parish church in Malpas, Cheshire, England. These registers have now been deposited in Cheshire Record Office at Chester, England
  • Since 1885, the parish church of Whitewell has kept its own registers. These are believed to be still held at the church.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464323.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 June 2013, at 17:10.
  • This page has been accessed 565 times.