Ivory Coast GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ivory Coast)

Africa Gotoarrow.png Ivory Coast

Guide to Ivory Coast ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Topics


The French made several attempts to establish trading stations on the coast in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, and a few trading stations were set up in the eighteenth century, but it was not until 1842 that formal treaties were made between the French government and coastal chiefs to build forts and, subsequently, to establish trading posts. Despite periodic setbacks, as well as periods of governmental indifference, the French government officially made the Ivory Coast a colony in 1893.

The Ivory Coast and other African territories were united with France in the French Union in 1946. In 1960, the Ivory Coast became independent.[1]

Contents

Getting started with Ivory Coast research

(Your text or images here)

Jurisdictions

(Your text or images here)

Research Tools

A wiki article describing Civil Registration is found at:

Ivory Coast, Civil Registration (FamilySearch Historical Records)

References

  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Ivory Coast,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1987-1999.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 August 2015, at 20:28.
  • This page has been accessed 7,177 times.