Jämtland County, Sweden GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Jämtland County, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Back to Sweden►
Image of county shield here.
Jämtland County in northern Sweden lies along the Norwegian border in an area noted for mountains and forests. While the county is one of the largest in area only 112,000 people live here today (population in 2000). The county's only city, Östersund, sits on the shore of Storsjön lake about at the geographic center of the land area. Founded in the late 1700s, the city did not begin to grow until the coming of the railroad in 1879 but even now it is not a large city.
Jämtland County (spelling was Jemtland until early 1900s) consisting of Jämtland and Härjedalen provinces belonged to Norway from mid-1100s but was occupied by Sweden 1564-1571 and 1611-1612. With the Peace of Brömsebro in 1645 the two provinces became part of Sweden. There has been a long history of contention between Norway and Sweden about the area.
1645 - 1654
1655 - 1762
1762 - 1810
1810 - Present day
Jämtland has Tingslags instead of Härads. Through the years there has been variations to the Tingslag organization in Jämtland. Because of this, the Tinglsag information is found on the parish pages instead of here. Click on the parish you need in the table below.
- This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 21:38.
- This page has been accessed 3,473 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News