Jackson County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Jackson County, North Carolina)

United States  Gotoarrow.png  North Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Jackson County

Guide to Jackson County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records



Jackson County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Jackson County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 29, 1851
County Seat Sylva
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Jackson Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Jackson County Courthouse
401 Grind Stass Road Room 103
States, NC 28677
Phone: 828-586-7532

Register of deeds has birth, marriage, death and burial and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probaet and court records from 1851
Jackson created from Haywood and Macon 29 Jan 1851[1]
Jackson-county-courthouse.jpg

History

Andrew Jackson.JPG

The county is named after President Andrew Jackson (1767-1845).[2]

Parent County

1851--Jackson County was created 29 January 1851 from Haywood and Macon Counties.
County seat: Sylva [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Many records missing, reason unknown. For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncjackson.png

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Jackson County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.


Church

Court

Ethnic Research

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

- 16th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company A
:- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G

Newspapers

Probate

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Death
Divorce
Marriages

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jackson County, North Carolina. Page 510 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Andrew Jackson," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 April 2015, at 16:23.
  • This page has been accessed 9,756 times.