Jakob, Oslo, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Jakob, Norway)

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngOslo County Gotoarrow.pngJakob

Guide to Jakob, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Church Records

Microfilm at the Family History Library contain parish registers from Jacobs parish in Oslo city. It as separated from the Cathedral (Vor Frelser) parish in 1875. Records cover 1875-1931.

Images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

History of the parish

Jakob parish was established July 10, 1874 by splitting off the northwest part of Vor Frelser. The border was to follow Møllerveien from Aker river, Møllergata, Youngs gate, Storgata, Nygata, Vognmannsgata, Rødfyllgata, Tomtegata and Aker river.

The parish was expanded September 28, 1897 and the borders should follow Møllerveien, Maridalsveien, Fredensborgveien, Rosteds gate, Møllergata, Youngs gate, Storgata, Brugata, Aker river, Trondheimsveien, Herslebs gate and Nordre gate.

Christian Kroghs gate was added to Vaterland småkirke annex on November 18, 1899.

In 1938 a part of Matteus parish which borders Trondheimsveien, Kirkegårdsgata, Rathkes gate and Herslebs fate was added to Jakob. At the same time a part of Hauge's parish which was bordered by Aker river, Sofienberggata, Toftes gare and Nordre gate was added also.

In 1959 Vaterland's church was discontinued. Because of this the boundaries between Domkirken, Jakob and Grønland parishes were adjusted.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2015, at 19:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,029 times.