Jarrow, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Jarrow, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Jarrow, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Jarrow, Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union South Shields PLU
Registration District Gateshead; South Shields
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

JARROW, EAST, in the parish of Jarrow, union of South Shields, E. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 3 miles (W.) from South Shields. This place is situated on the south-east side of the river Don, and forms the western boundary of the township of Westoe.[1]

JARROW (St. Paul), a parish, partly in the union of Gateshead, and partly in that of South Shields, E. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham; comprising the townships of Harton, Hedworth, Heworth, Jarrow, Monkton, South Shields, and Westoe; and containing 33,945 inhabitants, of whom 9082 are in the town and port of South Shields. There are chapels at South Shields, Nether Heworth, Windy-Nook, and Harton; and the Presbyterians, Wesleyans, Methodists of the New and the Old Connexion, and others, have places of worship in the parish. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/152 1765-1830 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1571-1981 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Ja.SP).

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Jarrow are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-

  •  Hebburn, St. Cuthbert 1874-1988 (EP/Heb.SC).
  •  Hebburn, St. John 1887-1970 (EP/Heb.SJ).
  •  Hebburn, St. Oswald 1881-1965 (EP/Heb.SO).
  •  Jarrow Dock 1862-1980 (EP/JD).
  •  Jarrow Grange, St. Aidan 1899-1927 (EP/JG).
  •  Jarrow, Venerable Bede 1903-1967 (EP/Ja.VB).
Non Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241346.


Poor Law Unions

South Shields Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Jarrow on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 631-640. Date accessed: 24 March 2011.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 631-640. Date accessed: 19 April 2015

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 April 2015, at 20:57.
  • This page has been accessed 1,753 times.