Jelsa (Jelsø), NorwayEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Jelsa, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records
Church RecordsSand and Erfjord. Erfjord was established in 1877 as its own parish. Included Sand parish until 1858. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.
1664-1666 Census (Manntall)
Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 Microfilm
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.
- 1701 Census (Manntall)
Manntall 1701 Microfilm
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.
Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database
- 1801 Census (Folketellingen)
The 1801 census (b. 38) for Jelsa clerical district includes Jelsa, Sand, and Erfjord parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.
1801-telling for Jelsøe Database
- 1865 Census (Folketellingen)
Folketælling 31 December 1865 for Jelsa Microfilm
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.
1865-telling for Jælsøe Database
- 1875 Census (Folketellingen)
This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.
- 1900 Census (Folketellingen)
This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.
1900-telling for Jelse Database
- 1910 Census (Folketellingen]
For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `
Jelsa police station
*1864-1964 death protocol Digitalarkivet
Foldøy, Ola, "Jelsa," Suldal: Utgjevar Suldal kommune, 1967-1981
A genealogy of the people in Jelsa in Rogaland county along with some history of the farms and the area. In 1964 Jelsa became a part of the larger community called Suldal. With a supplement index by Jørg Eirik Waula in v. 1. 948.31/J1 D2f 2 vols. FHL INTL Book
The farms are found on the left-hand side of the page. The contents (innhald) can be sorted by place (Plass) or by farm number (Gardsnr.). The main farm is listed in capital letters while the smaller divisions of the farm are listed under it in lower case letters. When you click on the farm a list of names will pop up in the window below. Then click on a name and the window to the right will open showing the families. The text is in Norwegian, but the format is easy to follow.
Farm Names =
31 Aaserøen indre 46 Aasland 12 Askvik 13 Bakken 20 Bakkene 4 Bandeberg 41 Barkeland 37 Berekvam 10 Bergeland 14 Berget 8 Bjerge 14 Bjørnevaagen 1 Buer 46 Buflaaten 26 Bøen 12 Dalestykket 2 Ekren 25 Fjetland 11 Foldøen 13 Frammigar 46 Fuglestein 46 Fureneset 39 Gjerde 18 Gryte 38 Haalemyren 35 Hagen 32 Hambornes 21 Haug 13 Hebnes 28 Hellevik 19 Holmen 35 Høivik indre 32 Jaarvik indre 38 Jelse 38 Jelseneset 14 Jægteviken 5 Kaltveit 20 Kalvik 17 Kjølvik 22 Kleppe 26 Klevene 38 Klunghaug 14 Kringlemyren 47 Landsnes 24 Li 44 Lovreslaatten 35 Lunden 13 Mallestuen 27 Marvik med Hage 15 Mehus 8 Myren 13 Myren 6 Naarstad 37 Naustmyren 20 Neset 9 Nodland 38 Nordnes 13 Oppistuen 34 Ottøen 40 Præstegaarden med Sandene 13 Præstestuen 13 Randistuen 43 Romsbotn med Sagen 2 Røikjenes 3 Seltveit 19 Sillelien 26 Sjurflaat 19 Skaateviken 23 Skimleim 35 Skrædderneset 17 Slaatten 26 Soland 13 Storstuen 37 Straumberget 19 Torflaat 14 Tveite 42 Tveiteraaen 14 Tveitesjøen 46 Ullestad 30 Utlebøen 7 Vatland 19 Vatland 45 Økstre med Slaatten 16 Østhus 30 Øvrebø
- This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 18:12.
- This page has been accessed 1,593 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News