Judith Basin County, Montana GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Judith Basin County, Montana ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Judith Basin County, Montana|
Location in the state of Montana
Location of Montana in the U.S.
|Founded||December 10, 1920|
|Address|| Judith Basin County Courthouse|
31 1st Ave
PO Box 427
Stanford, MT 59479
Judith Basin County Website
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- Parent County: created 10 December 1920 from Fergus and Cascade
- County seat: Stanford 
- Neighboring Counties: Cascade | Chouteau | Fergus | Meagher | Wheatland
- Cemetery and death records of Judith Basin County, Montana Most cemeteries have individual indexes. Contents: 1. Geyser cemetery (also called McLeesh cememtery)-- 2. Hughville cemetery.--3. Stanford cemetery [information taken from county death records only]--4. Other Judith Basin County death records taken from Cascade County death records. Consists of cemetery inscriptions supplemented by Cascade County death records.
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Judith Basin County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Judith Basin County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Montana, Judith Basin County, probate case files Viewable
- Montana, Judith Basin County, probate records Viewable
In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Judith Basin - Probate records.
County Clerk and recorder has birth, death and land records from 1920; Clerk Courts has marriage, divorce, probate and court records
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Judith Basin Historical Society Inc
Lewis & Clark National Forest, Band Box Coulley,
Stanford, Mt 59479
Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.
- Montana, Judith Basin County, marriage records Viewable
- Marriage records, 1920-1975 ; Index 1920-1993 Viewable
- Genealogy Inc Judith Basin County, Montana
- Kindred Trails Judith Basin County, Montana
- USGenWeb Judith Basin County, Montana project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 416.
- This page was last modified on 30 July 2015, at 22:06.
- This page has been accessed 5,682 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News