Küsnacht parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Küsnacht parish

Guide to Küsnacht parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Erlenbach, which originally had belonged to Küsnacht, became an independent church parish in 1703.

Place Names

Locations within Küsnacht

Aeussere Allmend
Allmendboden
Amtsäger
Bunzenhalde
Eichelacker
Forch
Geissbühl
Geisshübel
Hesligen
Hinterzelg
Hochrüti

Johannesburg
Itschnach
Kaltenstein
Küsnacht
Langacker
Letzi
Limberg
Neue Forch
Neuhaus
Rumensee
Rumensee-Weiher

Schmalzgrub
Schulhaus Limberg
Schüracker
Tägermoos
Tobelmühle
Wangen
Weidhof
Wies
Wiesental
Wieserholz
Wohlentbehren

Surrounding Parishes

Erlenbach
Herrliberg
Kilchberg
Maur
Rüschlikon
Thalwil
Zollikon
Zumikon

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Küsnacht:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 1 73
1637 1185141 2 99
1640 1185143 1 31
1643 1185145 1 341
1646 1185147 2 105
1650 1185150 2 123
1654 1185151 1 135
1657 1185179 1 109
1671 1185153 1 159
1683 1185159 1 229
1689 1185164 1 93
1695 1185164 2 149
1709 1185170 2 71
1734 1185173 1 757
1747 1185173 2 1

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Küsnacht families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Küsnacht belongs to the Küsnacht civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Küsnacht
Obere Dorfstrasse 32
CH-8700 Küsnacht

Tel: +41 44 913 13 22

email: zivilstandsamt@kuesnacht.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Küsnacht prior to 1875:

Abegg
Alder
Bär
Bertschinger
Billeter (1829, from
    Männedorf)
Bleuler
Bodmer
Böhler
Boller
Brunner
Bruppacher
Dörfel (1872, from Austria)
Effinger (1849, from Germany)
Egli
Elliker
Fenner
Fierz

Fischer (1858, from
    Germany)
Freimann
Freitag (1868, from
    Germany)
Freymann
Frymann
Gattiker
Gimpert
Grossmann
Gsell (1859, from
    Brüttisellen)
Guggenbühl
Gugoltz
Gugolz
Haas (1870, from
    Germany)
Hardmeier
Hoffmann
Hofmann

Hotz
Jäggli
Kraut
Kuser
Leemann
Lochmann
Meier
Meyer
Nussbaumer (1852)
Nägeli
Obrist (1834, from
    Zollikon)
Ohngemach (1810,
    from Germany)
Reithaar
Reutlinger (1872, from
    Germany)
Schmid
Schneider (1865, from
    Germany)

Schulthess
Siber
Stettler
Streuli
Trümpler
Unholz
Uster
Vögelin
Waidknecht (1866,
    from Germany)
Wanger
Weber
Werder
Wettstein (1827, from
    Oetwil am See)
Weydknecht (1866,
    from Germany)
Widmer
Wirz

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 February 2015, at 19:52.
  • This page has been accessed 455 times.