Karmøy, NorwayEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Karmøy is an island lying on the west side of Karmsund and across from the city of Haugesund. It contains several parishes. Avaldsnes, Torvastad, Åkra, Skudenes, Skudeneshavn, Stangeland, and Kopervik are the largest parishes and contain other chapels.
Probate records for all areas of Karmøy will be found in Karmsund judicial district. There are probates for the years 1692-1901.
Farm Book on the Internet
Karmøy Genealogy Club is creating an internet accessable listing of the families who have lived on Karmøy. The sources for this website are "Bygdebok for Karmøy," Norges Bybyggelse, notes of Johannes Mjølhus, the church books, probate records, census records, and private family information.
The family listings are by the farm which they lived on. The explanation of the website is in English but the family information is in Norwegian.
You will find a list of all the farms which are found in the modern Karmøy kommune. As the information comes available there will be a link from the table to the information on a specific farm. On the internet you will only find information of those inhabitants who had registered descendants. A more complete listing is found in the office in Skudeneshavn. You can E-mail inquires to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Return to Rogaland County►
Return to Norway►
- This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 19:14.
- This page has been accessed 498 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News