Keevil, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Keevil, Wiltshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Keevil, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Keevil, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Melksham; Whorwelsdown
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Westbury and Whorwellsdown PLU
Registration District Westbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1596
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Potterne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KEEVIL (St. Leonard), a parish, in the district of Westbury and Whorwelsdown, partly in the hundred of Melksham, but mainly in Whorwelsdown.[1][2]

The location of Keevil is in the county of Wiltshire, the lands are watered by a brook which flows into the river Avon and it is near the Kennet and Avon canal. It is also 4½ miles E of Trowbridge railway station.

Keevil includes the Tything(Tything is a Historic English Territorial Unit) of Bulkington.

There is a Wesleyan chapel.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Keevil, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Keevil, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1754-1837

IGI 1754-1837
NIM
1559-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464200.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 640-643. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 17:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,639 times.