Kelby, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kelby, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Kelby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kelby, Lincolnshire
St+Andrew Kelby Lincolnshire.JPG
St+Andrew Kelby Lincolnshire.JPG
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aswardhurn
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Grantham PLU
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Heydour
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grantham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1836 - Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Heydour; Post-1835 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Kelby St Andrew was originally a chapelry in Heydour, Lincolnshire Ancient Parish. Kelby is a hamlet and the chapelry was Norman and is referred to as Chileby or Chillebi in earlier centuries.

The tower and spire were rebuilt in 1850.

KELBY, a chapelry, in the parish of Haydor, union of Sleaford, wapentake of Aswardhurn, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 5½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Sleaford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

Refer to Heydour, Lincolnshire registers.There is a list of communicants at Kelby in the 1890's but the Heydour registers contain all entries for Kelby.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kelby


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438757.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 640-643. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 May 2015, at 03:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,462 times.