Kendal St George, Westmorland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kendal St George, Westmorland)

England Gotoarrow.png WestmorlandGotoarrow.png Westmorland Parishes

Guide to Kendal St George, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kendal St George, Westmorland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kendal; Lonsdale
County Westmorland
Poor Law Union Kendal
Registration District Kendal
Records begin
Parish registers: Unknown
Bishop's Transcripts: 1856
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kendal
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal
Location of Archive
Westmorland Record Office


Parish History

St George's Church, Kendal, is located in Castle Street, Kendal, Cumbria, England. It is an active Anglican parish church in the deanery of Kendal. The church originated from a chapel of ease to Kendal Parish Church in 1754. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464191.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia,St_George's_Church,_Kendal


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 May 2015, at 03:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,163 times.