Kennington Verulam ChapelEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Kennington Verulam Chapel, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
KENNINGTON, Verulam Chapel Walcot Place was originally erected as a Scottish Presbyterian Chapel, but according to Samuel A. Lewis, noted 19th century topographer, was by 1848, an Anglican ecclesiastical chapel and by 1850, one of a total of six which stood within the township district of Kennington. This chapelry, along with four others all lay within the boundary of the ancient parish and union of Lambeth St Mary's, east division of the hundred of Brixton, county of Surrey, 2½ miles (S. S. W.) from London. The five additional episcopal chapels in the district, were namely, Carlisle Chapel, originally an Independent chapel built about 1796 but later became an Anglican chapel in the early to mid-1840's; St Mark's Chapel, Upper Kennington Lane; St. James's, Clayton Place, and Kennington South St Barnabas All Saints. The Independents had two places of worship, and the Baptists and Wesleyans one each. 
For a printable list of all Kennington chapels to search christenings, marriages and burials up to 1900, see the Comprehensive List of Chapels and District Churches within St Mary Lambeth Civil Parish page.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474653.
Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.
The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organization of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief but important 19th century perspectives and summaries about places.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 14:05.
- This page has been accessed 865 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News