Kenton, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kenton, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes

Guide to Kenton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kenton, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Exminster
County Devon
Poor Law Union St Thomas
Registration District St Thomas
Records begin
Parish registers: 1694
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kenn
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office


Parish History

KENTON, a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in St. Thomas district, Devon. The village stands in the valley of the Kenn, 1 mile W of the estuary of the Exe, 1½ mile NW of Starcross railway station, and 6½ SSE of Exeter; was once a market town; and has a post office under Exeter. The parish contains also the village of Starcross.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kenton, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Kenton, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1694-1837

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241310.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Kenton on GENUKI


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Published in 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 29 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2015, at 23:48.
  • This page has been accessed 3,036 times.