Kidlington, Oxfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kidlington, Oxfordshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Kidlington, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wootton
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Woodstock PLU
Registration District Woodstock
Records begin
Parish registers: 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Woodstock
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KIDLINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Woodstock, hundred of Wootton, county of Oxford.  There is a chapel of ease at Water-Eaton. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kidlington, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Kidlington, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1574-1837 1574-1837
OFHS 1579-1899
1574-1893
1574-1960

Water Eaton chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Water Eaton Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1827-1897, 1926-1969



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474576.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 667-672. Date accessed: 09 October 2012.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 16 January 2014.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 22 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 May 2015, at 20:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,294 times.