Killamarsh, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Killamarsh, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Killamarsh St Giles Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Chesterfield PLU|
|Parish registers: 1638|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1670|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Killamarsh is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1843 from chapelry in Eckington, Derbyshire Ancient Parish.
KILLAMARSH (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 9 miles (N. E.) from Chesterfield. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Killamarsh chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Killamarsh St Giles (1638) Chapelry Online Records|
Killamarsh St Giles
Derbyshire Record Office reference D3370 has deposited registers Bap 1638-1985 Mar 1639-1979 Burials 1639-1970 Banns 1754-1808, 1891-1909
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241297.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Killamarsh on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 12:35.
- This page has been accessed 2,166 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News