Kincardine, Perthshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Perthshire Gotoarrow.png Kincardine

Parish #364 ( in Menteith )

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Kincardine to learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.


Contents

History

KINCARDINE IN MONTEITH, a parish, in the county of Perth, 2 miles (S. by W.) from Doune; containing the villages of Kirklane and Woodlane. This parish, of which the name is of very uncertain etymology, is pleasantly situated in the vale of Monteith, and in the southern part of the county. The church, which was greatly dilapidated, was rebuilt in 1814. It is a cruciform edifice in the later English style, with an embattled tower crowned by minarets, and contains 770 sittings.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Kincardine, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year
FHL Film Number
Surname Indexes
1841
1042694
none
1851
1042245
none
1861
0103893
none
1871
0104075
none
1881
0203507
6086646 (6 fiche)
1891
0208735
none

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.


Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1691-1854 1040191 item 3-4
Marriages: 1691-1854 1040191 item 3-4
Deaths: No entries none

 

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: Births appear to have been regularly kept.
Marriages: Marriages appear to have been regularly kept. One page of entries dated July 1831–September 1832 occurs immediately before births for 1691.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1728–1736, 1777–1800, 1802–1833
Poors’ Fund Account 1728–1743, 1829–1907
Accounts 1750–1770, 1770–1907
Note: Available at the Stirling Council Archives, Stirling, Scotland, record CH2/1455.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

Kincardine United Presbyterian Church

History—
The congregation of Kincardine originated with members of the Established Church, who felt dissatisfied with the doctrine taught by their minister, and applied for and obtained supply of sermon from the Associate Burgher Presbytery of Dunfermline, 1775. The first church was built 1819.
Source: Annals and Statistics of the United Presbyterian Church, by Rev. William MacKelvie, D.D. pub. 1873. Film #477618. More details are given in the source.
Records—
Managers’ Minutes 1852–1957
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/1018.

Norrieston Free Church

History—
Norrieston was a “quoad sacra” parish partly in the parishes of Kilmadock, Kincardine, and Port of Monteith. Free Church services were provided at Norrieston immediately after the Disruption. The congregation was organized and a minister settled in September 1843. The new church was completed the following August.
Membership: 1848, 200; 1900, 135.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D. 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.

Records—
Baptismal Register 1843–1859, 1864–1879
Various Minutes 1843–1923
Abstinence Society List of Members 1845−1850, Minutes 1851–1909
Note: Available at the Stirling Council Archives, Stirling, Scotland, record CH3/1224.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Kincardine was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Dunblane until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dunblane. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Dunblane.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Perthshire. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

Web Sites

Kincardine-on-forth Local History Group

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 61-82. Adapted. Date accessed: 09 May 2014.


Return to Perthshire parish list.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,129 times.