Kings Ripton, Huntingdonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kings Ripton, Huntingdonshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes

Guide to Kings Ripton, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Kings Ripton or Ripton (Kings), is a parish with a village, in the district of Huntingdon, Huntingdonshire, 3¾ miles N E of Huntingdon railway station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kings Ripton, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
Kings Ripton, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1597-1877
1597-1877

HUNT

1599-1900
IGI 1608-1626
NBI

1599-1900

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288835.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Kings Ripton on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 18 April 2014.
  3. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Huntingdon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  5. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,103 times.