Kingsbarns, Fife, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kingsbarns, Fife, Scotland)

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Fife Gotoarrow.png Kingsbarns

Parish #441

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Kingbarns. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.



KINGSBARNS, a parish, in the district of St. Andrew's, county of Fife; 3 miles (N. N. W.) from Crail, and 6 (S. E. by E.) from St. Andrew's. This place derived its name from its having been appropriated as a granary by the kings of Scotland, to whom it belonged, as part of their private estate, during their residence at Falkland. The church is a neat structure in the later English style, thoroughly repaired in 1811.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for Kingsbarns. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about Scotland Census Records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Kingsbarns as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year FHL Film Number Surname Index
1841     1042702 book 941.33 X22s; films 1145982-3; CD-ROM no. 1075
1851 1042269 941.33 X22f
1861 0103830 CD-ROM no. 2524
1871 0103992 None
1881 0203525 6086574 (set of 8 fiche)
1891 0208759 None

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about Scotland Church Records

Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.  

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1642-1819, 1820-1854 1040196 items 2-3
Marriages: 1650-1788, 1760-1819, 1820-1854 1040196 items 2-3
Deaths: 1663-1714 (Mortcloth dues) 1040196 items 2-3
1688-1693, 1714, 1740-1748 (damaged) 1040196 items 2-3

Condition of Original Registers—

Index: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: There is a duplicate of September 1701–February 1717. After January 1805, births are entered in separate columns in the same register with marriages and deaths. Except August 1663–November 1679 and 1713–February 1717 there is one duplicate. Mother's names are not recorded until November 1760.
Marriages: There are no entries March 1658–October 1663, November 1679–October 1681, and November 1760–December 1788.
Deaths: There are neither deaths nor burials November 1678–January 1688 and November 1693–April 1713. Two pages 1740–1748 are partially destroyed.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. FHL British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes and Accounts 1630–1848
Minutes 1663–1954
Accounts 1760–1853
Note: Available at St. Andrews University Library, St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland, record CH2/819.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

There are no known pre-1855 nonconformist churches or records for this parish.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.

See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Kingsbarns was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of St. Andrews until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Fife at Cupar. Probate records for 1513-1901 are indexed online at You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place' of Fife and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Fife.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Fife. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place' of Fife and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 61-82. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 May 2014.

[Return to the Fife parish list.]


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 June 2015, at 19:10.
  • This page has been accessed 2,428 times.