Kingswood (near Bristol), Gloucestershire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Kingswood (near Bristol), Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Kingswood (near Bristol), Gloucestershire|
|Hundred||Langley and Swinehead|
|Poor Law Union||Keynsham PLU|
|Parish registers: 1822|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1822|
|Diocese||Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Gloucestershire Record Office|
BITTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Keynsham, Upper division of the hundred of Langleyand Swinehead, W. division of the county of Gloucester; containing, with the chapelries of Hanham and Oldland, and the district of Kingswood, 6¼ miles(E. S. E.) from Bristol. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
|The Kingswood Index, compiled by DP Lindegaard is the place to start|
Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 267-270. Date accessed: 12 February 2013.
- This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 18:11.
- This page has been accessed 2,264 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News